Beyond the Waterfall Complete!

Waterfall

Good news everyone! I am happy to announce that “Beyond the Waterfall” is complete. The only problem? The story is almost 8,000 words…which it’s goal was 3,000 and the max is 4,250.

What?! It wasn’t done yet!!! Don’t look at me like that!

I honestly don’t know what I’m going to do. I don’t think I can trim it down by over 3,500 words. I’d have to cut the entire story in half. But I don’t know if I can do an entirely new story. I write the story that comes to me, not necessarily any particular length.

But I’m letting it sit for a few days before I read it for the first time. That way I can adjust things with a clearer mind. *Sigh*

I will say that the Scrivener project was a success. And I’m considering using it full time. I still have a few concerns here and there about it, but I think they’re more personal preferences than actual issues.

Kasumi

Now a bit of bad news. I’ve been fighting a cracked radiator on Kasumi (my maroon 1999 Honda Accord) for a couple weeks now. I’ve tried to use the JB Weld on it with the help of a friend, but it didn’t work. Even tried it again with a super-thick application. No dice. So my dad was kind enough to loan me his 2013 Honda Accord for a couple days while mine was getting fixed. I’m happy to say that’s done, but it was $450 with a wheel alignment as well (which sorely needed to be done). Ouchies. I hate car stuff. 😛

Other Things

I can’t really think of anything else super important right now. I’m not sure what my next writing project will be. I should go back and try and finish Stormhaven. I might take a day or two to convert it over to Scrivener. Since it could eventually become a series, it would probably be a good idea.

Caitlyn is doing well. We’ve had a lot of fun the last few days since I got an extra day off from work. I took her for a short hike down a trail in Foothill Ranch. Only 15-20 minutes down. But she enjoyed it. Trying to get her out and doing things more.

Maybe it’s just my brain being weird, but I think that’s it for now.

Anyway, good luck and have fun!

-rks

Leave a comment